6th World Atheist Conference

January 5, 6 & 7, 2007

at Atheist Centre, Vijayawada, A.P., INDIA

Theme: "The Necessity of Atheism"


The Sixth World Atheist Conference scheduled to be held at Atheist Centre, Vijayawada, on January 5-7, 2007 (Friday, Saturday & Sunday). It will be yet another milestone in the onward march of atheism, humanism and rationalism. Atheists, freethinkers, humanists, rationalists and social change workers from different continents will be participating in the Conference. The earlier World Atheist Conferences were held in 1972, 1980, 1983, 1986, 1996 and 2005.

Gora (1902-1975) and Saraswathi Gora (1912-2006), founders of Atheist Centre, conceived the necessity of World Atheist Conferences. Gora was at the helm of the First Conference in 1972 and Saraswathi Gora successfully organized the other four Conferences. After working out the details of the Sixth Conference, She died on August 19, 2006. Taking inspiration from the life and work of the illustrious founders, Atheist Centre is organizing the Sixth World Atheist Conference.

Mr. Levi Fragell, Former President, IHEU, (Norway) will preside the inaugural function of the Conference on the 5th January at 11.30 am. Ms. Sonja Eggerickx, President, International Humanist and Ethical Union (Belgium) will be the Chief Guest. Dr. Veeramani, President, Dravidar Kazhagam will inaugurate. Mr. Roy Brown, President, IHEU (Switzerland); Dr. Volker Mueller, President, Umbrella of Secular Assoziations (Germany) will be the distinguished Guests.

On January 7 afternoon Dr. P.M. Bhargava, Vice-Chairman, National Knowledge Commission, Govt. of India and Founder Director, Cellular and Molecular Biology, Hyderabad will deliver the Valedictory address of the Conference.

The distinguished participants include: Dr. Bill Cooke Editor, Open Society, (New Zealand), Mr. Pekka Elo, Editor, Humanisti, (Finland); Mrs. Mythri, Editor, Nasthika Margam; Mr. Premanand, Indian COICOP, leader, Miracle Exposure Campaign; Mr. Jim Herrick, Humanist, (U.K.), Dr. Selnes Kjartan (Norwegian Humanist); Mr. Lavanam, Atheist Centre; Mr. Babu Gogineni, Executive Director, IHEU; Prof. Dhaneswar Sahoo, Mr. Ramchandra CST Voltaire, Dr.Umesh Patri (Orissa); Dr. Narendra Naik, Convener, FIRA; Prof. Sunanda Shet, Coimbatore; Dr. Innaiah, Convener, FARA, Hyderabad; Mrs. Vidya, Ex-MP; Mr. Kalanand Mani, Executive Director, Peaceful Society, Goa, Mr. Shariff Gora; Mrs. Hemalata Lavanam; Mr. GVK Asan, Modern Rationalist, Chennai; Mr. V. Nehru, President, Tamilnad Rationalist Association, Mr. Rajagopal, Vice-President, Gandhi Peace Foundation, New Delhi; Mr. Bern Boedecker and Ms. Barbara Blust (Germany) and others from America, Europe, Asia and Australia will participate.

Please plan from now on to participate in this important international event. Three day simple accommodation and food at Atheist Centre, including registration fee 150 US Dollars. (Those who cannot attend personally can become non-participating delegates)


For further details: Dr. Vijayam, Dr. Samaram, Dr. Maru and Mr. Vikas Gora; Atheist Centre, Benz Circle, Vijayawada 520010, A.P., India.

Phone +91 866 2472330, Fax: +91 866 2484850, Email: atheistcentre@yahoo.com